How to replace the broken screen of your acer Iconia a 200

How to replace the broken screen of your acer Iconia a 200


header-big

Introduction-Changing the screen of an android tablet:

Some weeks ago I was on holiday. I had my acer Iconia a 200 tablet with me. Unfortunately it fell on the concrete floor one night. The glass of display was broken. This also meant you weren’t able to use your fingers to give commands everything had to be done with a nasty mouse. Some days ago I took heart and I’ve ordered a new LCD Screen and Digitizer Assembly. Today I have assembled the new parts to my Iconia a 200 tablet. It’s new working fine again. If you also smashed the screen of your android phone/ tablet this guide will be perfect for as it will explain you how to change the screen. I will guide you through every single step. Many of the shown steps should also work with other android tablets.

“This guide is aimed to safe you money by replacing the screen instead of buying a new tablet!”

Note: In my case it would have been enough if I replaced just the Digitizer Touch Screen without the LCD Screen. But as I didn’t know whether the LCD Screen got also damaged I decided to buy both. If you have similar problems and you just want to buy a Digitizer Touch Screen the only step you have to do more is detaching the broken glass from the LCD Screen and attaching the new glass to it. All the other steps shown will remain!

What you need:

Tools

Relevant Parts

  • OEM Acer Iconia Tab A200 LCD Screen and Digitizer Assembly.

Etradesupply for example offers you worldwide shipping.

European customers may also check out Screen-shop.net.

Difficulty

  • Difficulty: Moderate
  • Time: ~45 min

How to:

Step 1

  • It’s best to start by removing the Micro SD- Card. Not removing the memory card can cause problems later down the road.

Step1

  • Start by removing the plastic cover. It’s best to use a pick for that.

Step2Step3

  • You can remove three parts. The piece of plastic that’s covering the Micro SD-Card reader can’t be removed. Store the loose parts carefully.

Step 2

  • Open the four Phillips screws with a screw driver.

Step6

Step5

Step 3

  • Use guitar picks to detach the plastic cover from the display. Start at the left and the right side. Insert the pick between the plastic cover and the black gasket.

Step7 Step8 Step9 Step10

Step 4

  • Pull the battery cable connector away from its socket on the logic board. You can do this by hand, use a screw driver or use a plastic opening tool. Pull the plug gently along the horizontal axis to towards the battery. Removing the battery at that early stage can avoid short-circuits.

Step12 Step12.5

advert.hardrive
Click on the advert to read the guide.

Step 5

  • Continue by removing the seven Phillips screws securing the battery to the case. Remove and store them in a box.

Step11

Step 5

  • Remove the power cord from its position.ย  Use a screwdriver or a Plastic Opener to gently dissolute the magnet which is around the cable from the plastic.

Step13

  • Pull the cable for the charger away from the centre of the logic board

Step14

Step 6

  • Pull the microphone cable connector away from the centre of the logic board. Remove the microphone gently by lifting it upwards.

Step15

Step 7

  • Continue by removing the three Phillips screws for the loudspeakers.

Step16

Step17

Step 8

  • Remove the flexible flat cable which is connecting the screen board with the display. To do so open the black part of the carrier like a book. You’ll then be able to detach the cable by pulling it along the face of the board away from the carrier.

Step18

Step 9

  • Disconnect the cable that’s connecting the screen board with the logic board. To do so pull gently away from each board. You might want to use a plastic opener again.

Step19Step20

Step 10

  • Next we have to peel the inverter away from the body.
  • You only need to bend it slightly upwards.

Step22

Step21

  • Use the flat end of a spudger to pry the inverter connector up and off its socket on the logic board.

Step23

Step 11

  • Pull the display cable away from the logic board to disconnect it. Note: the display cable socket is very fragile. Do not apply any upward force to this socket, as it may break off the logic board. Pull the display cable parallel to the face of the logic board.

Step24

Step 12

  • ย peel the w-lan antenna away from the body.
  • You only need to bend it slightly upwards.

Step25

  • Use the flat end of a spudger to pry the w-lan antenna connector up and off its socket on the logic board.

Step26

Step 13

  • Remove the seven Phillips screws securing the logic board to the case. Store the screws in a safe place.
  • Now you can remove the logic board. Store it in a safe place.

Step27

Step 14

  • Use the tip of a spudger to flip up the screen board. This board is glued onto the body. A new screen board will be included to your replacement screen.

Step28

Step 15

  • With the heat gun or blow dryer set to low, start heating the outer black border of the glass panel. Make sure to heat everything consistently.

Step29

Step 16

  • Gently lift the corner of the display glass with a guitar pick. With the guitar pick you can pry up the display to the plastic frame. Pry up the display along the edge of the display.

Step30

Step 17

  • Pull the display cable away from the display to disconnect it. To do so just pull the cable parallel away to the display surface.

Step31.5

  • Finally you will have to separate parts as displayed in the bellow mentioned images.

Step31 Step32

Step 19

  • Remove the flexible flat cable for the screen from the screen board. Otherwise youย  later won’t be able to to fit the display properly together with the plastic frame.
  • Open the black closing on the carrier by rotating the it towards beige carrier.

Step33

Step 20

  • Fit the display cable of your new display gently through the opening in the plastic frame.

Step34

Step 21

  • Detach the plastic covers from the edges of the lower side of the new display. Furthermore detach the piece of plastic which is marked with a blue dot from the opening of the camera.
  • Now glue the new display into the plastic frame. Press the edges of the display blandly onto the frame.

Step35 Step36

advert.hardrive
Click on the advert to read the guide.

Step 23

  • Remove the tape of the screen board.
  • Glue the display board onto the plastic frame.
  • Attach the display cable to the screen board. Feed the flexible flat cable into the mouth of the carrier. Finally close the black plastic of the beige carrier like a book.

Step37

Step38

Step 24

  • reassemble everything else in the right order.
  • You should finally come up with a result like this:

Step39 Step40

I hope this guide on how to repair the display of your Iconia Android tablet was useful for you.

Yours Markus

Did you manage to fix your android tablet? Tell us in the comment section!

Note: Quaintproject assumes no liability!

29 thoughts on “How to replace the broken screen of your acer Iconia a 200

  1. Here are additional tips, wear gloves (you can get powder free gloves from Walmart or other stores)
    Take a picture of the internal components BEFORE you disassemble, then you can refer to the picture when putting things back in.
    If you have to force it, look at it again, most connectors have a release. The digitizer release flips up.
    Thanks for the tutorial, mine is back together AFTER I broke the digitizer trying to open the unit to check the W-Lan antenna. Please look up how to open it before you tackle it. http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=Nol2qBuQrLY

    Like

  2. Is it possible to replace just the digitizer touch screen and not the lcd part? or Would that be harder to do??
    Ive also heard you can just pop off the screen and replace it leaving the lcd part alone, is that true?

    Like

    1. Hello Shalyn,

      thanks for your comment.
      It is possible to replace only the digitizer Touch screen without replacing the LCD screen. Replacing these parts will only cost you about $40.^^ I have also replaced the lcd screen in my example. If you just want to change the glass panel make sure you don’t damage the lcd screen and make sure it is free of dust. The glass panel and the lcd screen are glued together with a piece of tape, that can be removed. With that in mind it should be quite easy to disassemble everything. I hope that helps! Cheers Markus PS: We have included links of Online-shops that sell only the digitizer touch screen. ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

  3. wat if I just take off da broken glass and leave it with out da glass would it still work cuz I don’t have money to get a new one

    Like

    1. For further information see Michael’s comment. Note: You should still be able to use your tablet like a notebook by plugging in an usb-keyboard/ mouse. Usually an original glass panel will costs you around $ 40-50. Maybe you can find cheaper replacement parts out there… ๐Ÿ˜‰ I hope that helps. Cheers Markus

      Like

  4. Thanks for the guide I replace it myself. It took a little more than 1 hour. The adhesive use was very tough to open the Tablet. I didn’t want to break the components such as the wifi. The screen needed to be heated several times before I was able to separate the screens. There wasn’t any instructional videos anywhere so I decided to make one especially for separating the screen. Here is my experience in doing the repair.
    EDIT:Link removed by quaintproject as it’s no longer available.

    Like

    1. Thanks for sharing this video with us. Yes,it’s true there are hardly any videos out there how to seperate the glass from the lcd ๐Ÿ˜€ Could you please add a link to our blog to the discripting of your video? ๐Ÿ˜€ I think it would perfectly match…Thank you. Cheers Markus

      Like

    2. I did link your blog to our video thank you so much for the write up; I am glad our community can help each other!

      Like

  5. I was hoping someone on here might have some advice on my problem.
    I followed this tutorial to the letter and I noticed (right when I got to the step for removing the screen board) that the new digitizer I bought from chubbies tech didn’t include a new screen board. I went ahead and followed the steps to completion (using the original screen board) and everything works but the digitizer. I just want to ask if using the original screen board would stop the new digitizer from working? Also, will a new screen board make the digitizer?

    Like

    1. Hi Sam, thanks for your comment. One thing I’ d like to mention first is that we replaced the digitizer and the LCD screen as I was not sure whether the LCD Screen was also damaged… But back to your question…Obviously you just changed the digitizer and attached it to your old LCD Screen, which is just fine! ๐Ÿ™‚ Did you make sure that the cable connecting the board with the digitizer is attached properly (step 23)? You might have to open your device again to check this… ๐Ÿ˜ฆ You might also want to check if the LCD screen and the digitizer-glass element are well connected by the glue strip…By the way I have never worked together with chubbies tech but I couldn’t find a assembly part for the Acer tablet shown, if you are working with e. g. a Samsung tablet some steps may vary… I personally can’t imagine that your original screen board prevents the digitizer from working… I’ ll read some forums, if other people had issues like yours anyway…Best regards Markus Ps: If you already know the things mentioned above, just ignore them ๐Ÿ™‚ ๐Ÿ™‚

      Like

    2. After reading some blogposts…You might have to recalibrate your device by installing an app or going to the menu (Acer as hidden this function) best regards Mark us Please tell us what you came up with! Thank you!

      Like

  6. thanks, bought a new screen/digitizer for ยฃ18 and as a complete novice i was able to follow instruction to achieve a fully functional tablet. Delighted !!!

    Like

  7. Greetings Quaintproject,

    Thanks for taking the time to read this: I have a specific issue with my Acer Iconia A210 (which I absolutely love and can’t speak highly enough of) that I was hoping you could help me with. Here goes:

    I need to track down what adhesive is used to glue the digitizer back into place after repair after a digitizer swap. The digitizer itself is loose and can simply fall out if shook carelessly, and (for bonus difficulty levels) I need to find the closest (or exact) adhesive that is used originally. I’ve run into a problem with the core processor of my unit, which is under warranty and has been approved for RMA service, but under the warranty (it’s third party, not Acer) I can’t send in the tablet without the digitizer being secured/adhered as well or better than when I received.

    No part of the return/RMA involves the digitizer or repair to it, but I must be able to send them a tablet without separate hardware/assembly flaws, sooooo…. my question would be:

    Would you be so kind/knowledgeable as to know which product is used originally by Acer to adhere the digitizer, and if it is available for retail purchase? If not, would you be so kind as to suggest what your best guess would be, or what the best standard adhesive would be?

    Acer tablet digis are notoriously hard to separate from the case, and I need to provide a digitizer that is of equal or better placement before sending the tablet back.

    Second question- the tiny screws you remove from the logic board (the Philips)- do they have a specific name denoting their exact size/type and are they available for retail?

    Thank you 1000 times! I’ll be sending my friends to this site!

    Keith

    Like

    1. Dear Keith thanks for your reply. ๐Ÿ™‚ It’s time to answer your question(s) ๐Ÿ™‚ I can really understand your problems: Just one thing we’d like to mention though we didn’t buy any adhesive as there were a few adhesive strips placed on the backsite of the replacement panel. For your specific issue we’d recommend something like this: http://www.ebay.com/itm/3M-3mm-Screen-Adhesive-Sticker-Repair-Tape-for-Acer-Iconia-Tab-A210-A211-ETOT304-/221414113530?pt=Other_Tablet_eReader_Accessories&hash=item338d4f40fa It will only cost you a few dollars and comes quite close to the original. Unfortunately I have thrown the original part away a few weeks ago ๐Ÿ˜ฆ I try to find an image on my hard drive to show you how things have been assembled. ๐Ÿ™‚ To be honest I wouldn’t be worried about the tape holding your screen in place to much, as I can’t imagine that they well tear down your complete tablet (including removing the screen from the plastic frame) just for changing the core processor unit. I am afraid that I can’t give you very detailed informations on the screws. To me they looked pretty standard (e.g. ##00 or #1). You should be able to find similar screws in well-sorted electronic stores. I hope that helps. Please let me know if you have more questions. Cheers Markus

      Like

  8. Hello Markus
    Thank you for your incredibly informative post. I only need to replace the digitizer and previous search has shown that I won’t need to disconnect most parts – such as the battery, powercord, mic, speakers etc. From what I can gather I might be able to skip steps 4-7 and 9-13 of your post here. But I need to separate the lcd from digitizer (which is not shown here – video is no longer available. Do you think I have this right? Many thanks Me-Lee

    Like

  9. Hello Me-Lee, thanks for your kind words. BLet’s talk about your question. I am sorry that the video is no longer available, but it was posted by someone who commented on this article. I highly doubt that it will be possible for you to replace the digitizer without the steps 4-7 and 9-13 for two reasons. First the lcd and digitizer/ glasspanel are firmly adhered, so you probably need some room to work with tools. You won’t have enough room to work with tools unless your screen element is still attached to the plasticframe. Secondly the digitizer is connected with a cable to the other components. You might have problems reattaching your cable. But of course you can give it a try. Please tell us about your experiences. ๐Ÿ˜€ If you have any more questions feel free to ask. Please note that you can loose your warranty by swapping the digitizer. Cheers Markus PS: Quaintproject assumes no liability

    Like

    1. Hi, just thought I’d let you know I decided against replacing due to my inexperience. I have managing quite ok using kb shortcuts ony bluetooth kb which came with the leather case and if I know I need to do a lot of work I use a little wireless mouse aswell. I love the usb on this unit. Thanks for taking the time to explain the procedure to me.

      Liked by 1 person

    1. Hi Di,

      You can try to separate the glass from the screen by heating the glass until the adhesive gets more mellow. You should then be able to slide of the glass from the screen part. From my own experience I can tell you, use rather more time to heat up the elements, otherwise changes are high that the glass breaks.

      Unfortunately I don’t have a device right now that needs to be repaired.So I can’t post any directions ๐Ÿ™‚

      Cheers Alex

      Like

  10. I will immediately grasp your rss feed as I can not in finding your email subscription hyperlink or newsletter service.
    Do youโ€™ve any? Kindly permit me recognise in order that I
    could subscribe. Thanks.

    Like

  11. I have a question, can you replace the glass without detaching everything? I have taken off the back and sides and disconnected the ribbon (that goes to the screen). Currently working on my Acer A100. Thanks!

    Like

    1. Hi Melissa, sorry for my late reply, but I was on vacation. Removing the sides and the back is not enough for my understanding. You have to remove the glass + screen assembly from the plastic frame. Sorry. I’d recommend following our guide. Happy repairing. Cheers Markus

      Like

Leave a Reply

